Admin - Settings

Learner Group Settings

Overview:

Learner Groups give and restrict access to content to your users in the Rockstar Learning Platform system. A learner group should be created when you have a course offering that a specific group of users needs to see.

Example 1: You are selling one course to all of your users. You will only need one learner group.

Example 2: You are selling 2 courses, Course A and Course B. Users with access to Course A will not have access to Course B. You will need two learner groups.

Learner groups are assigned to a module and are also assigned to a user. If Learner Group X is assigned to User 1, and Learner Group X is also assigned to Module 1, the system knows that User 1 is allowed to view Module 1. Module must be assigned to a learner group in order to appear on the Users Page of the platform.

Learner groups are assigned on the module level, not the course level. This means that a course can have modules that are assigned to different learner groups. Users are able to see 2 different versions of the same course depending on what learner group they are assigned to.

Learner groups are not tied to enterprises or offices. Users in different enterprises and offices can belong to the same learner group.

You cannot assign learner groups on a course level; however, there is a batch edit feature that will allow you to assign all modules in a course to a learner group or groups

Creating Learner Groups:

Type in the name of the learner group you want to create, an abbreviation (the system will create one if you do not), and the number of days the users in this learner group will expire in if applicable (this is optional). Expiring a learner group is a great feature to use if you are offering a free trial or a demo. When a learner group expires the user’s access is restricted and they will no longer have access to the content.

When you have filled out these fields click the blue "Add New" button to create your learner group. You can edit your learner group at any time by clicking on the edit icon next to the learner group name.

 

Assigning Learner Groups to Modules:

To assign a module to a learner group, navigate to the Content tab in the Admin Page. Click on the title of the module you want to add the learner group to from the module list on the right hand side of the page. Click the red "Edit" button and scroll down to the "Learner Groups" field.

 

Click the field and a drop down list of your learner groups will appear. Choose the learner group that you want to assign the module. A module can be assigned to multiple learner groups.

A module must be assigned to a learner group to appear on the Users Page.

Click on the red "Update Module" button to assign the module to the new learner group(s).

You can also assign learner groups to a module when it is first uploaded to the platform and by using the batch edit feature. To learn more about these 2 methods, read the Uploading and Editing a File article and the Module Batch Editor and Filters article.

Assigning Learner Groups to Users:

To assign a user to a learner group, navigate to the Users tab in the Admin Page. Click the edit button on the user you want to add the learner group to.

 

 

Click the learner group field and a drop down list of your learner groups will appear. Choose the learner group that you want to assign the user to. A user can be assigned to multiple learner groups.

A user must be assigned to a learner group to view modules on the Users Page.

Click on the red "Update" button to assign the user to the new learner group(s). You can also assign learner groups to a user using the following methods:

  1. Registration Pages
  2. Adding New Users
  3. Sales Pages
  4. Integrations

This article last reviewed June, 2016. The software may have changed since the last review.